Blue Coconut French Macarons

This world has a way of bringing people down. I’m typically a very happy and confident person, but yesterday I just felt off. I love my life, I love constantly learning and creating, and I’m proud of what I do, but yesterday I just felt worthless. Luckily, I have a very supportive family who always make me feel loved, but I felt like I needed to prove something to myself. I needed a confidence booster.

I’ve heard that French Macarons are extremely challenging. I’ve also heard that they can be very rewarding. Macarons have been on my goal list for a while, and I decided they would be the perfect opportunity to prove that I can do anything I set my mind to. (This was a huge risk, because the chances of failing were high). But I decided to go for it. And I’m so glad I did.Blue Coconut French Macarons

I did some research, and found a fairly simple recipe from Krissy’s Creations that I liked. I gathered the ingredients and tools, and started baking! The first thing to do was make almond flour by grinding almonds in a food processor. I pulled out my food processor (that I’ve never used) and attempted to figure it out. My Grandma gave it to me, and it didn’t have instructions. I thought I was using it right, but it barely chopped my almonds into pieces. I’m sure it was a user error, but I couldn’t figure it out.

Time for Plan B! I pulled out my Pampered Chef slap chop thing. You know, the one where you hit the top repeatedly to chop things up? It was a tough process to chop the almonds manually, but I wasn’t about to give up. I needed to make these macarons.

The slap chop didn’t make the almonds into a fine powder, but I decided the pieces were small enough. Worth a shot, right? So I followed the rest of the directions. I whipped my egg whites,  added the sugar, and folded in the powdered sugar and almond mixture. I added blue food coloring and a little coconut extract, and piped out my circles onto parchment lined baking sheets.Blue Coconut French Macarons

I used a template under the parchment to help make them all the same size. You can see the almond chunks that didn’t get small enough, but I didn’t care.

The macarons sat out for almost an hour so they could harden, and then I baked them at 300 for about 14 minutes. And look what happened! They even have feet!!!Blue Coconut French Macarons

They rose beautifully, and smoothed out. You can barely even see the almond chunks! In the picture below, you can see the difference between the sheet of raw macarons and the cooked ones.Blue Coconut French Macarons

I let them cool, and filled them with buttercream.Blue Coconut French Macarons

Blue Coconut French Macarons

Scrumptious!Blue Coconut French Macarons

I’m so very proud of my macarons. No, they aren’t perfect, but this might be my new favorite thing to make!Blue Coconut French Macarons

My husband even likes them! And he is a tough critic!Blue Coconut French Macarons

Next time I will buy almond flour, and I might even try the Italian method where you boil the sugar.Blue Coconut French Macarons

Now I’m thinking of all the flavor possibilities…Blue Coconut French Macarons

Moral of the story is: When you’re feeling down, make macarons! They give you an incredible feeling of accomplishment 🙂

Here is the recipe.

Blue Coconut Macarons
Modified recipe from Krissy’s Creations
Makes: About 30 Macarons
*Measuring the ingredients in weight is necessary to make macarons.  Because of this, a kitchen scale is needed*
Macaron Shells
90 gr Egg Whites
30 gr Sugar
200 gr Powdered (Confectioners) Sugar
110 gr Almonds
1/4 tsp Coconut Extract
Basic Buttercream
1 ½ (3 sticks) Unsalted Butter (Softened)
3 cups Confectioners Sugar
1/8 tsp. Salt
1 tsp. Pure Vanilla Extract
Blue Food Coloring (Optional)
To make the macaron shells, place the egg whites in the bowl of stand mixer fitted with a whisk attachment.  Whip the egg whites until they begin to foam, about 2 minutes. Slowly add the sugar to the egg whites while the mixer is still going.  You might need to stop the mixer and scrape down the sides of the bowl a couple times.  Continue to whip the egg whites until stiff peaks have formed.
While the egg whites are whipping, combine the powdered sugar and almonds in a food processor and pulse until the almonds are finely ground.  If you cannot get your almonds to grind fine enough, sift the mixture and then pulse the almonds again that did not sift.
Once the almonds are finely ground, add the mixture to the whipped egg whites.  Fold the mixture carefully until the batter flows like a thick ribbon.  It should take no more than 50 folds for the batter to reach the right consistency.
To color the shells, add a few drops of the blue food coloring (I prefer to use gel food coloring to not add any extra water to the batter). Mix in the coconut extract with the coloring.
Using a piping bag fitted with large round tip pipe small rounds onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  The rounds should be no larger than 1.5 inch in diameter.  Be careful to not pipe the rounds to close to each other – give space for them to spread.
Let the macaron shells sit for at least 30 minutes, until their shells are hardened.  Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F. Bake the shells for 12-16 minutes.
While the macarons are baking, make the buttercream.  Cream the butter in the bowl of stand mixer fitted with the whisk attachment until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes.
Add the confectioners sugar and salt and mix (gradually increasing in speed) until the sugar is fully incorporated, about 5 minutes.  You may need to stop the mixer and scrape down the sides of the bowl a couple times.
Add the vanilla and whisk until the mixture is light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Once the buttercream is creamy and airy, the buttercream is done!
Cool the macarons on the baking sheets and then transfer to a wire rack.  Match the macaron shells in pairs.  Place each pair next to each other, with one of the shells topside down.
To fill the macarons, pipe a small round on the macaron shell that is topside down.  Top with the other matching macaron shell, and twist until the icing reaches the edges.  Serve and enjoy! Store in the refrigerator in an air tight container.
2 thoughts on “Blue Coconut French Macarons

Leave a Reply

