My Big Announcement!

I started this blog several years ago as a way to document the things I create. I’ve always loved making things, from crafts to desserts, and all things in between. I haven’t posted anything in quite a while, but it seemed like a good time to start again. Today, I am here to announce that I am making something new. Something I never expected to be sharing on this blog.

First, Emily made cupcakes. Then she made soap. Now, Emily is making a baby! That’s right, I’m pregnant. I considered creating a new blog for this new adventure, but I decided using this one would be easier. And while it was not my original intention when creating this blog, It’s the most convenient place for me to document this journey.

As of today, I am 14 weeks and 2 days pregnant. My due date is December 23, and here is the little announcement I made. I haven’t made it “Facebook Official” yet. I will probably share on social media in a few weeks when we find out the gender.

Announcement

The first few months have been pretty tough. I’m very grateful for my husband, he has been super supportive while I’ve been sick and exhausted and cranky. He’s the best. I had him take a quick picture of me last night to show my “progress”. I don’t think I’m showing yet, but I am a little bloated. So here is my awkward “bump” photo. Hopefully I will get more comfortable taking these, because right now it just feels silly.

14weeks

I also thought it would be a fun to do a weekly questionnaire to keep track of my progress. 14 weeks is kind of late to start, but better late than never, right?

How far along? 14 weeks

Total weight gain: I started at about 124 lbs. Due to nausea and food aversions, I lost a few pounds. I have been bouncing between 118-120 since week 8.

Maternity Clothes? Nope, all of my clothes still fit. (Except for my bras…those stopped fitting at the very beginning.)

Stretch marks?  No, I’m hoping I won’t get too many.

Sleep: I’ve been sleeping fine so far, no issues yet. I’ve also been taking naps after work. The only thing I’ve noticed is that I’ve been having some crazy, vivid dreams lately. The other night I literally dreamed about an ice cream sundae. With all the toppings. It was glorious.

Best moment this week: Well I announced my pregnancy last week to my friends and family, so it’s been nice to hear from them. I was very anxious about telling people, but everyone has been so encouraging. I feel relieved now that it isn’t a secret.

Miss anything? Having energy and feeling normal.

Movement: Nope, but I hear it shouldn’t be too much longer.

Food cravings: My cravings have been pretty random. For a while it was watermelon and milk. Lately it’s been cold, sweet, fruity things. So popsicles and snowcones and smoothies and slushies.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Ohhh yes. Bacon. Well, meat in general, but mainly bacon. The smell makes me want to puke instantly. My boss makes bacon in the office kitchen every morning. I have to hide in the shop until the smell goes away. It is awful.

Gender: Cameron thinks it is a boy. I’m not really sure.

Labor signs: No

Symptoms: I feel like I have most of them. It started with cramps and sore boobs, then the morning sickness got really bad. The nausea is fading slightly, but I’m constantly exhausted. I get dizzy and lose my breath often, and of course I have to pee all the time.

Belly button in or out? In!

Happy or moody most of the time: Definitely moody. Everything irritates me. I have some better days, but poor Cameron had been putting up with a lot.

Looking forward to: Finding out the gender! Hopefully the next few weeks will go by quickly.

This is all very new to us, and we are learning as we go. I look forward to sharing our journey. I also have a whole pinterest board of new projects to make, so I’m sure I’ll be sharing those as well!

xoxo-emily

2 thoughts on “My Big Announcement!

  1. Congratulations!!! I am very excited for you both!!!! Man am I ever glad I joined your blog this week!!! Best wises!

  2. OMG !!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!
    I am so so happy for you and Cameron!
    I can’t believe Beth is going to be a grandma before me! Your going to be a great mom as I’m sure Doug would would say too if he could.

Leave a Reply

